The church contains a Norman font, a vaulted chancel and transepts with squints from
the 13th C. 1874 saw a major restoration of the church which included a new roof
and an internal baptistry with steps, designed for baptism by total immersion. This
is an unusual feature in an Anglican church and perhaps reflected a wish to counter
the attraction of the chapels.
There is mention of an earlier church in the area possibly dedicated to St Mary but
the exact location is unclear.
The church is named after Saint Brigid, the saintly nun who founded many communities
in Ireland and it thought to have travelled to Pembrokeshire with Saint David. She
may have established a convent at St Brides, the remains of which can be seen on
either side of the driveway to St Brides castle.
St Brides church, dated from 1291, replaces an earlier chapel and cemetery standing
close to the sea, which has now been eroded away. The nave of the church has a fine
timbered roof and beautiful windows given in memory of various members of the Kensington
Extensive restoration took place in 2003 and the church was rededicated on St Bridget’s
day in 2004.